12 June 2008

The "Seven Sisters" of the North American Wildlife Conservation Model

1. The Public Trust
In North America, natural resources on public lands are managed by government agencies to ensure that we always have wildlife and wild places to enjoy.

2. Prohibition on Commerce of Dead Wildlife
Conservation laws and their strong enforcement in the United States and Canada saved wildlife from slaughter.

3. Democratic Rule of Law
You can help make laws to regulate hunting and fishing and conserve wildlife.

4. Hunting Opportunity for All

Every citizen has an opportunity, under the law, to hunt and fish in the United States and Canada.

5. Non-frivolous Use
In North America, we can legally kill certain wild animals under strict guidelines for food and fur, self-defense and property protection.

6. International Resources

Wildlife and fish migrate freely across boundaries between states, provinces and countries.

7. Scientific Management
The right information helps us make good decisions and become better stewards of wildlife.

No comments: